Presented by Creative Music Works
When: Saturday, April 20, 2019
Show: 7 p.m.
Where: Muse Performance Space
200 E S Boulder
Lafayette 80026
Tickets: $15.00

Shelley Hirsch is an award winning, critically acclaimed vocalist, composer, and storyteller whose mostly solo compositions, staged multimedia works, improvisations, radio plays, installations and collaborations have been produced and presented in concert halls, clubs, festivals, theaters, museums, galleries and on radio, film and television on 5 continents.

She is the recipient of numerous awards, grants, fellowships and residencies in the music composition, electronic music, performance, new forms, multidisciplinary work categories, including 4 from NYFA; a Creative Capital grant; the prestigious DAAD residency in Berlin; The Ucross/Alpert residency Prize; 2 NEA grants and a record 5 Artist In Residencies from Harvestworks Studio PASS. The radio version of her autobiographical musical piece “O Little Town of East New York” won a 1st Prize in the Prix Futura International Media Competition in Berlin.

Dino1When: Friday, April 29th
Where: Kenneth King Center, Auraria Campus, 855 Lawrence Way, Denver, CO 8020
*Free Parking in the 7th Street Garage
Day program: 9 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Evening concert: 7:30 p.m.
Tickets: Free and Open to the Public

The Immediate Music Festival provides an opportunity for students to join professional musicians and thoughtful clinicians in an open, collaborative environment to foster the learning of improvisation.

About the musicians

Dino J. A. Deane moved to NYC in the early 1980’s where he pioneered the use of Live-Electronics, Live-Looping and Live-Sampling, playing trombone controlled synthesizer in the Art/Punk band Indoor Life; playing electro acoustic percussion in the Fourth World Music of trumpet master Jon Hassell; and live sampling the ensemble in the Conduction Orchestras of Butch Morris.

Since Maestro Morris’ passing in 2013, Mr. Deane has committed himself to continuing the legacy of Conduction through education, by providing workshops for conductors, musicians, actors and spoken word artists.

The Flux Crew: A Conduction Ensemble (under the direction of Dino J.A. Deane), is a twelve piece chamber ensemble that engages in real time collaborative composition. The ensemble is made up of outstanding Colorado musicians, from diverse musical backgrounds, who come together monthly to explore the art of Conduction.

Conduction is a gesture based system created by Butch Morris that allows musicians to collaboratively create music. Gestures create a structure interactive with the conductor, within which musicians improvise and musically relate to each other.

Sone (pronounced “sewn”) is a collaboration of four innovative and exploratory sound makers, recording artists and musical imaginators: Janet Feder on prepared guitars; Jane Rigler, flutes; Evan Mizunek, keyboards; and Mark Harris on saxophone, combine their career-long improvising experience with a search for new sound qualities and animate those with a focused compositional sensibility.

Sone explores notation, space, time and texture with sensitivity and surprise, and the results are imaginative sound landscapes that can defy description.

Jeffrey Agrell joined The University of Iowa School of Music faculty in 2000 as horn professor after a first career as a professional symphony musician. In addition to being an accomplished composer and writer, he is very interested in creativity in music and in improvisation for classical musicians, frequently giving concerts and workshops nationally and internationally. Professor Agrell also teaches a unique course entitled Improvisation for Classical Musicians, and has six published books on the subject, including Improvisation Games for Classical Musicians.

Schedule of events

evan playing accordion29:00—9:15 am Meeting and introductions
9:20—9:40 am Sone Performance with Jeff Agrell
9:40— 10:00 am Get to know the artists
10:00—10:10 am Ten minutes of group sounds
10:10—11:05 am Soundpainting with Evan Mazunik
11:10—11:30 am Janet Feder Performance and Chat
11:30—12:00 pm Group Play
12:00—12:30 pm Lunch
12:30—12:50 pm Improvising with Jeff Agrell
12:50—1:10 pm Deep Listening Workshop with Jane Rigler
1:10—2:05 pm Conduction led by Dino J.A. Deane
2:10—2:30 pm Final Group Performance led by Jeff Agrell

7:30 p.m. Evening Concert, King Center Recital Hall & MDS
Sone accompanies silent films by women
Flux Conduction Ensemble

Joe Bonner

Andrew Cyrille

Anthony Braxton

A. Spencer Barefield

John Carter

Marilyn Crispell

Douglas Ewart

Oliver Lake